VOLUME 28, ISSUE 04. October 2021

The first night having dinner at The Blue Duck Inn, during our trip to Big River (Upper Mitta Mitta River) in May 2021.

Just a reminder to our members what a live club event looks like. Our monthly casting practice. The reason that I chose this event and photo is that it's the most likely first "live" event we will hold post this current lockdown. We will no doubt review closer to the time depending on what restrictions are in play. Anyhow some positive signs are emerging!!!!

 
 

Next Members Monthly Meeting

Our next Members Monthly Meeting will be held as a Zoom Meeting, due to the current Covid Lockdown, on Monday the 11th October 2021 kicking off at 7:00PM.


Please view further down the Flyrodder for further details.

 

Next Members Monthly Fly Tying 

The Next Monthly Fly Tying Meeting, on the 18th October 2021, will be held as a Zoom meeting and Dave Wilson will be running the show.

See further details below under the Fly Tying segment.

 

President's Report

Denis Hill on the Snowy River.

Dear {Contact_First_Name},

And still the pandemic rolls on! – During the last month we had to make a decision, whether or not to lock in and pay for our accommodation for the two Saltwater Weekends we had planned for November with Brian Henderson. I spoke with Brian Henderson and while he would support us if we went ahead and paid for the accommodation, his recommendation was to cancel for November and replan the events when were more confidence of Covid not interfering. So that is what we have done, we will organize both, the general “Saltwater Fly Fishing Introduction Weekend” and the “Ladies Only, Saltwater Fly Fishing Introduction Weekend” sometime in the new year.

While we have cancelled the Saltwater Weekends for November we are still planning and hoping to hold our Annual Geehi/Long Plain trip in November. While of course this trip is also at risk from Covid interference, if we cancel at the last minute there is virtually no cost involved. For those still working who have organized annual leave for the trip, the last-minute cancellation of Geehi/Long Plain would be a blow, but hopefully getting the painting, gardening and other projects finished before Christmas would be a silver lining.

Continuing with the theme of playing it safe, we are organizing our October (with guest speaker Lubin Pfieffer) and November Club meetings via Zoom, but we are endeavoring to organize to have our December Christmas Club Meeting in person with a sit-down celebration of the end of 2021 and a better year ahead - tight lines through 2022. Our guest speaker at the Christmas party will be our own Justin Duggan and as we did last year, we will raffle a prize of a day with Justin on Sydney Harbor for two of our members.

Last month David Wilson delivered Part 2 of his fly-Tying series this time it was “Tips and Hacks”, Part 1 was on “Selecting Fly Tying Equipment”. During October David will deliver Part 3 “Skills and Techniques”. During Part 2 David made the very strong argument the best way into fly tying was to master the basic skills and then learn the different patterns – not as many of us have, where we started tying patterns while trying to find and learn the needed skills as we went. So, this month on our normal fly-tying night David will present “Tying Skills and Techniques”. I am sure it will be another wonderful presentation.

Zoom has been a God sent for keeping our Club Members in contact during the Pandemic and we have had wonderful presenters share their knowledge and insights via Zoom – but I can’t wait until we can meet in person and get together and fish. In the meantime, keep yourselves and loved ones safe.

Hope to see you on Zoom soon.

Denis Hill

President

 

From the Editor

Gavin at Smith's Lake with a nice bream.


Well, there isn't too much for me to add at this time, as things are very quiet with the current restrictions in place, and our President has said it all. It's been tough enough to come up with this edition of the Flyrodder.


But there are definitely positives emerging, with Dave Wilson providing wonderful fly tying demonstrations via ZOOM, and we will probably have our Monthly Casting Practice session back in play for November, and I'm currently planning trips to Big River (March 2022) and Mitta Mitta (May 2022) for next year. I will announce this in the November Flyrodder with the link to the Event Booking System.


Our Webmaster, Alan Baldry, has put in a tremendous effort with the installation of our new website, the Membership module (which is a dream compared with our previous renewal process) and now continuing the good work with the Website sub committee to evaluate and hopefully transition the current Event Booking System for a fully integrated Club Membership System. Al is an IT specialist and has put his good technical and project management skills into practice to employ best practices and standardisation throughout the implementation process. I'm sure that our Membership have already experienced the benefits of the new system. Feedback would be most welcome.


I'm always looking for any snippets of information to be included in that section of the Flyrodder. Anything that you might see that could be of interest to the club members, please forward them through to me.


Hopefully the December Flyrodder will be packed with trip reports covering the camping trips to Geehi and the Long Plain area of the Snowy's. Can't wait to get there. 


Gavin van der Wagen

Editor.

0411 877 546

gavin@vit.com.au

 

Last Monthly Meeting and Guest Speaker Report

Dave Wilson, our Club Fly Tying Guru.

Our September Members monthly ZOOM meeting guest speaker was none other that our Fly Tying Guru Dave Wilson.


Following on from his August Fly Tying demonstration where he covered a great snapshot of literally the history of fly tying equipment from when he first started fly tying to the present time. His fly tying room looks like a living museum from old relics, to the modern time.


This September demonstration followed on from there and delves more into materials and tricks of the trade.


In the October Fly Tying event Dave will be teaching us more about the skills associated with fly tying, to equip us to tie all manner of flies. See the section later in this edition of the Flyrodder for the meeting details and Zoom Invite.


You can view Dave's complete Episode II of Fly Tying by clicking on this link that follows. The video of Episode I may be found in the Main Club Private Library, as mentioned, in the last link at the end of this segment.

https://youtu.be/1hiKLOMd11Q

These club meeting guest speaker presentations can be viewed on our members private library on YouTube. To view them please click on the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A  

So it's well worth your while to join the monthly meetings.


 

Next Monthly Meeting and Guest Speaker

Lubin Pfeiffer with a Blue Bastard

Our next Monthly Members Club meeting will be held as a ZOOM Meeting, due to the latest Covid Lockdown, on Monday the 11th October 2021 kicking off at 7:00PM. Please click on the Zoom Meeting Invite Link below to log into the the meeting.

Our October Meeting Guest Speaker will be Lubin Pfeiffer and he will be talking about his various fly adventures documented on his youtube channel "The Full Scale - Fishing Adventures”. This is the link to the channel if you would like to check it out:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTdD8TCmOCbVmey66mxbLYQ

He is currently on a trip fishing the WA coast and heading up to the NT where he plans to give his presentation from Lake Kununurra. 

From the channel description:

"The Full Scale Fishing Adventures tackle everything in the fresh & salt with both lure & fly. Join Lubin Pfeiffer as he travels Australia sharing his knowledge and techniques targeting a wide range of species. 

Growing up near the Murray River in South Australia, Lubin has a passion for Australia's largest freshwater fish the Murray cod. He is also an accomplished competition fly fishing angler, winning a team gold medal at the 2015 Oceania Championships and team silver & individual gold medals at the 2020 Commonwealth Fly Fishing Championships.

 For the past two years Lubin and his wife Casey have lived in a van travelling and fishing full time. The Full Scale Fishing Adventures is all about living a life of fishing.”


OCTOBER ZOOM MEETING INVITE

Denis Hill is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.


Topic: Fly Rodders October Zoom Meeting
Time: Oct 11, 2021 07:00 PM Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88325259685?pwd=YWNwZysyK0UwMlJGYjNkQ0ZyNThLdz09

Meeting ID: 883 2525 9685
Passcode: 068030

Regards,

Denis Hill

President


For the meeting our format will be that we will hold the normal meeting covering what is happening around the traps, fishing reports and any other business.

Then Lubin will take over and run his presentation and chat.

This presentation will then be uploaded to our Club Members YouTube Video Library.

To access this library, please click on the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A  

You will also be able to view all the previous meeting presentations that we have recorded, and view at your leisure.

Our Meeting is normally held on the 2nd Monday of each month, unless it is a public holiday; in which case it will be delayed a week. 

Looking forward to catching up at the meeting, one day.

 

New Members

We had one new member join the club in September 2021.


We welcome Dave Robinson to our Club.


We encourage new members to join in on the many activities that we run as this is a good way to meet other club members and also to improve your fly fishing skills and most importantly to have a great time.

Looking forward to meeting you at our Monthly Members Meetings and at events throughout the coming year.

 

Last Months Casting Practice Report

CASTING PRACTICE REPORT – SEPTEMBER 2021

Just for the record, no monthly club practice was held in September due to Covid restrictions. 

I take this opportunity to talk about two of the recent club presentations which were filmed and put onto Youtube. I could reference all such presentations we have had because I always appreciate and listen to experts in their field and respect their knowledge and expertise. But I only mention Dave Wilson’s piece on flytying skills and Justin’s interesting interview with Simon Gawesworth. That’s because they both had reference to fly casting in particular respects. 

FLY TYING SKILLS

First, how lucky are we to have access to Dave’s knowledge and teaching expertise! I have spent some time thinking about his helpful distinction between learning the basic flytying skills on their own as distinct from learning them by tying fly patterns. If you break down fly patterns into skills and materials knowledge aside from the tying directions, the subject just explodes. What skills, you ask? Case in point: in 1998 Ted Leeson and Jim Schollmeyer put flyting skills into 444 dense pages and pics of A4 hard cover under the title of “The Fly Tier’s Benchside Reference to Techniques and Dressing Styles”. Not one fly pattern (aka recipe) is to be found named in the 6-page Contents section, nor is there any recipe as we know it for a complete fly in that book. The point? 

Foundational skills exist and can (and probably should) be identified and taught in their own right as fundamentals, rather than just be acquired gradually as you tie the various patterns. The subject has continued to explode since 1998, due to changing materials and never-ending human inventiveness. 

I was struck also in the video presentation by Dave’s confident use of ‘acquired’ materials not originally designed for tying flies, or even his own property. I am not dobbing him in – watch the video for yourself. I am, apparently, still in that stunted phase where I buy dubbing in little packets instead of using something weird which an aficionado would recognise and adapt because he has the knowledge and skills to do so. There’s a wealth of knowledge and technique in Dave’s presentation and I can’t wait till the next episode in October. To those who don’t tie flies, watch it anyway and see a master at work at what he does.

CASTING SKILLS

What about applying the skills and patterns concept to fly casting? What about knot tying? How does skill develop? Is the test of skill about how efficiently you can do something, or how consistently, or how well you can transfer it to a new situation? For ‘situation’, read ‘pattern’ or ‘knot’ or ‘cast’. It’s all of those things at some level of capability. 

What are the building blocks of a complicated fly cast such as a reach mend with slipping line (and yes, still hitting the target)? Many moving parts here, as they say. But, if you can do it on the right hand side, you could quickly learn to do it on the left as well, without the same level of effort as the first side. That’s because of transferability.  What are the transferable skills you took into the new cast/pattern? What are the component skills for doing a reach mend at all? Where else could those skills take your casting?  I guess the message for casting is to get the component knowledge and skills into an efficient, repeatable state and build them into the casts you need. 

For an impressive and encyclopaedic look at the fundamental building blocks of fly casts, check out Jason Borger’s book “Single-Handed Fly Casting”. As he says, there are 7 separate steps (ie skills) needed for a Belgian Cast (good in the wind) and a Puddle Cast (slack line cast), noting that they each have 6 out of those 7 steps in common.  Ie Learn the 6 common steps and you can quickly adapt to the other ‘pattern’ by using one extra, different step at the end. Result – 2 separate casts which could hardly be more different in purpose. It’s a different mindset when you go looking for the fundamentals, compared with treating each cast as something separate in its own ‘box’. 

MASTERY

I can’t leave this topic without mentioning the learning message involved in a simple act such as tying your shoelaces. You learnt that skill a long time ago, right? If you were asked how you do the relevant knot, you might not be able to tell someone precisely, but you could probably do it in practice in under 5 seconds because it is now your unconscious, highly-repeatable skill. You no longer even think about it as a process, because the hands just move by ‘muscle memory’. That’s the stage of mastery. How good would it be to get like that with your double or triple surgeon’s knot and your favourite tippet to fly knot? Or making a pinch wrap when flytying? When learning an essential skill, know clearly what has to be done, in what order and stick to it till it’s second nature. If you ever see me commence a surgeon’s knot by looping under, instead of over, as the first step, I’ll buy you all the beer you can drink. (That’s not to say I’m right, by the way – it’s a style thing. The distinction between style and substance will be the subject of a future blurb).

LINE CHOICES

A quick word on Simon Gawesworth’s interview. I thought Simon’s discussion of fly lines was very informative. If you buy a weight-forward line there are a bunch of reasons why you might want one with a head length of 30’ rather than one with a 46’ head (or whatever, and vice versa). Some of these reasons have to do with your casting ability and the range of distances you fish at (due to preference or circumstances such as salt/fresh, hot/cold, weather, target species, water type and so on). This may not be something you have considered and maybe bought your line for other reasons, such as ‘slickness’ or colour or anything else. You might think that such considerations as head length and shape are too sophisticated for your level of casting. On the contrary, they might be the very factors holding back your casting success in the places you fish if you’ve got an inappropriate taper or head length. If the words taper and head length are new to you (and we are not even mentioning bellies yet), get online and check out the specifications of the lines you have (or on the package if you still have it). Lay your line out and feel the changes and/or measure it for yourself to know what’s what. Get familiar with your gear. While it’s out – clean it: you probably paid a premium for all that super slickness it has, so look after it. 

If you are going to buy a second (or third, etc) WF line in any particular weight (or 1 weight either side of the one you already have), I suggest you get your actual fishing situations and casting styles sorted and do some simultaneous research on why line tapers are what they are, starting with Simon’s interview. Ask yourself: ‘why am I buying this particular head length and taper? Don’t focus on whether 3 colours are better than 2 colours, for example, or how slippery it is supposed to be. 

Finally, in the dim past, one started this caper by buying his or her Cortland double tapered line. No choices, just buy your fibreglass rod, buy the DT and get on with fishing (naturally, without any casting instruction). Simon will tell you in the video a great story about why you might find a double tapered line to be a nifty thing to have. It can be a kick-arse solution in lots of situations and, in my opinion, the line I would have if I could only have one line (Horrors!!).  Frankly, I think the weight forward and shooting head scene to be such as to induce decision paralysis in any fisherman. The minute you decide to purchase a WF line, the decisions start to mount because you are now becoming a ‘specialist’. How specific should it be? There must by now be thousands of combinations of line shapes you could wade into. How different are your fishing needs?  How transferable are your skills? 

Beware of the guy who only has one rod, because he probably knows how to use it!  

Cheers

David Caddies

 

Club Monthly Casting Practice - Details and Event Schedule. (Suspended for the time being.)


The Casting Practice Meeting scheduled for 10 October 2021 is Cancelled due to the current COVID Lockdown situation. But the good news is that we should be able to restart these sessions from 14 November; but we'll keep you updated.


WHAT IS IT?

Members are all welcome to join in with each other to practice casting at this club event. It is held monthly, on a Sunday morning at Timbrell Park, Five Dock. See future scheduled dates listed below.

Currently, we are constrained by the NSW Covid lockdown, so email messages will be sent around to all members to keep you informed of the latest. 

WHAT DO WE DO THERE?

David Caddies organises the sessions and will be there to make you welcome and give you something useful to practice on. Or, bring your own practice drills to do and to share. You do need to be a club member, but you don’t need to register. Just turn up. Bring your favourite rod and line – that’s all you need. A leader of 7’6” - 8’ is sufficient, but not too light. Say 8-10 pound tippet. ( ie 3X, 2X or 1X if you speak in X’s).
Maybe you should bring your least favourite rod and/ or line and finally get to grips with it!

A feature of the sessions is that we can use the Fly Fishers International Casting Skills Program as ideas for what skills we should be trying to improve. For those interested, we conduct coaching and evaluation in the various levels of the Program. Yes, you too could become a Gold Star!  Have a look at the details on the website below to see what it’s all about. Note, however, that the program is being re written extensively and should be finalised by the end of August. It still will have 3 levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. 

https://flyfishersinternational.org/Education/Learning-Center/Casting/Casting-Skills-Challenge

There is no obligation do this program and we mostly do other types of practice at the moment, rather than just training on the skills in the FFI program. Have a look at these links below to see my summary of what the new levels require (ie Bronze and Silver).

Table of FFI Draft Bronze Challenge Tasks

Table of FFI Draft Silver Challenge Tasks


WHO COMES TO PRACTICE?

Members who want to practice fly casting; members who need time out of the house or who just want to stand around in the sunshine gasbagging with other members, members who don’t get to go to club events as often as they would like and members who want to see whether casting practice is something they might want to do, never having previously considered the idea of practising to go fishing. Just don’t try explaining it to a non-flyfisher. 

The practice program is either well- favoured or is a complete dud, because most people keep on coming back every month if they can. There’s a good vibe to it.  Luckily there is always a pretty wise crowd in attendance, all eager to give, and take advice, so you’ll find plenty of inspiration just by being there. These sessions are valuable for any level of fly fishing experience; whether you are a beginner, intermediate or experienced you will take some skill improvement idea or drill away with you to practice on.  

We also encourage new members to attend as this is a great way to get involved in the club’s activities. Five Dock is hopefully not too far from your home, given the size of Sydney, plus it’s an opportunity to meet other members. More than a few fishing trips have been hatched and executed among the members who meet up at casting practice. 

WHAT AND WHERE

We usually start at 8am, focussing on the more basic elements of casting. At 9am, when most members arrive, we switch to other skills practices. Any good practice session starts with the basics, so don't feel constrained by thinking you are at some, or no, level of expertise or other - just get into it all!


VENUE: Timbrell Park, Henley Marine Drive, Five Dock. Go to the western end, just past LIvvi’s coffee kiosk and kids’ playground area on Henley Marine Drive. Opposite where Ingham Avenue intersects with Henley Marine Drive. 
TIME:   8 am for specific casting basics (all welcome). 
            9 am for usual practice session (all welcome).


SUNDAY DATES FOR THE REMAINDER OF 2021 (Suspended for now!)

14 November

12 December


So come and give it a try, as there is so much to be gained  by attending these sessions. And they are Free!!!

 

Last Months Fly Tying Meeting Report

In September Dave Wilson conducted a wonderful fly tying discussion, covering the breadth of fly tying from way back to the current time. His fly tying room was full of umpteen fly tying vises and other memorabilia; just a museum.


His discussion presentation can be viewed on the Club's Private Video Library on YouTube. 

To view Dave's discussion, please click on the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A  


 

Next Monthly Fly Tying Meeting


The October ZOOM Fly Tying Meeting will once again be graced by Dave Wilson our fly tying wizard.

On Monday, 18th October he will demonstrate fly tying “Skills and Techniques” to members via Zoom.

His approach, drawing an analogy, will be along the lines of dressing a mannequin! 

Demonstrating all the necessary skills to dress the mannequin with a range of the popular materials whilst paying particular attention to proportions and sizes. 

He will cover common S & T’s for fresh and salt water flies.

As Dave mentioned in his previous demonstrations, most fly tyers kick off by tying a particular fly pattern and then learn the skills along the way. 

The best way is to learn the skill before you tie a pattern, and this will be Dave's approach in this presentation and demonstration.

So this approach will be of most benefit to members embarking on their fly tying journey but also to the old hands who can learn some new skills or indeed improve on their current skill levels by seeing some of "the tricks of the trade" demonstrated by Dave.

This will be another wonderful and informative presentation on Fly Tying by Dave.


ZOOM INVITE

Denis Hill is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.


Topic: Fly Tying Zoom Meeting
Time: Oct 18, 2021 07:30 PM Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84273131924?pwd=TDB3OUJJbzV5R3lBaTBhTVlqemdrUT09

Meeting ID: 842 7313 1924
Passcode: 014543

See you there; "virtually"!!

 
 

Geehi and Long Plain Camping Trip in November


Geehi 19th - 26th Nov

Long Plain 27th Nov - 4th Dec.

The Event 

The Club has for quite a few years held a two-week camping trip in the Snowy Mountains. One week in the National Park Geehi Flats Campground followed by a week in the National Park Long Plain Campground. Members are welcome to camp for one night through to the full 14 nights. As you may be aware pre Covid there was no cost for camping in our National Parks other than the park access fee, with the advent of Covid national Parks introduced a booking process for camp sites and with it a $6 per booking fee. So, if you would like to join us on this event the first thing you should do is book on the National Parks website for the nights you are going to attend as the camp sites can book out. 

Please note however that National Parks will only allow you to book 90 days in advance so get online to book for Geehi on the 22nd August and on the 28th August for Long Plain.  

With a booking fee of $6 per booking you haven't got a lot to lose so if you are interested please read the attached document which provides additional details regarding the trip and then jump on the National Parks website and book.

 I also ask that you also book on the Event Section of the Club’s website, we have no limits on attendees or costs for this event, the reason we ask you to book is simply so that we can keep members appraised of who is attending and when, and you can thus co-ordinate travel and fishing plans – also we can keep an eye out for you knowing when you should arrive.

Hopefully this trip can be part of our celebration of Covid lessening its grip on our lives.

Cheers

Your Committee

 
 

Buy, Sell and Swap

There is no Buy Sell, Swap this month as Its a Zoom Meeting.

 

Sydney Fly Rodders Facebook Pages

We run two SFRC pages, one is our public page and it posts events and activities of the club. It also shares posts from other pages like CAS, DPI on things relevant to the places and areas that we fish.


I post some fly tying every now and then and share links to events I find that might be of interest to followers. This page is a little like our Web page, it showcases the club to attract members and provides details of club events. It has about 450 people following the page and any post will be seen by between 180 and 240 people.


We added another page. This is reserved for members only and cannot be seen by anyone outside of the group. You will need to send a request to join. Any member can post on this page and it is a great opportunity for members to put up a post or two about anything fly fishing. I would like to encourage members to use this page to post fishing reports or photos of flies that you tied. Being connected to other members you can ask for some casting or gear advice, or organise a short trip when you suddenly have some spare time.


There are also hundreds of other groups; bream on fly, carp on fly, bass, trout....areas like alpine trout, Sydney Kayak Fishing....fly tying groups, buy sell swap fly gear pages and individuals like Aussie Flyfisher, Sydney Flyfishing to check out. 


Phil Burton
philipburton@bigpond.com

 

Sydney Flyrodders Instagram Page


The Sydney Fly Rodders are now on Instagram. Many thanks to our Member Maddie Chew Lee, who offered to set us up and apply her significant experience with marketing and communications in particular within the social media space. 

Please follow the site and add your comments, and lets grow this platform for the club. It will also attract new members to the club.

Below is a snapshot of the site. We aim to sync (in particular look and feel) the Instagram account with our Facebook account and also our new Website, which I talk more about in the preceding section.

 

Sydney Fly Rodders WhatsApp Group

We have an Exclusive Group on WhatsApp for our Members, which is a great way to communicate informally and to share ideas, seek advice and also to plan and seek interest for impromptu/planned fishing trips.


I can highly recommend this to members. We have arranged a number of trips now from a weekends bass fishing through to a casual and social Sunday morning or afternoons fishing at Narrabeen Lake or Hen & Chickens Bay etc. And there could even be a BBQ thrown in for a social get together afterwards. This will happen on most if not all occasions.


Should you wish to be included in this group, then please email me to request your inclusion, quoting your mobile number which is required to link you into the Group. You will need to download the WhatsApp first if you haven't already done so.


Please contact me for inclusion.


Gavin van der Wagen

Editor, Flyrodder

gavin@vit.com.au

 

Snippets of Information

The following is a report by Ray Tang on what is happening out West over the Great Divide. Ray is the Secretary of the Wallerawang Branch of the CAS (Central Acclimatisation Society). Our Club has almost 40 members who have joined up with this Chapter.


Fish releases

Friday 17th Sept, the boys from the DPI Port Stephens research centre came for a trip to our area and released 35000 native bass fry into both Lake Wallace and Lake Lyell.

Yes, that’s right, both lakes received 35k each   (thanks Luke and team!) 

With any luck a majority of these stocks will survive the redfin battle and provide some excellent bass fishing for the future to come.

The trout releases will go ahead, however possibly a little different this year with some changes due to covid protocols.

We are awaiting advice on how the hatcheries would like to proceed with the stockings this year.

None the less, as always, we will be happy to assist in any way we can.



Fishing

I’d have to say, wow Wang Lake has not fished so well!! 

It has been many years since I have seen fish rising consistently on dusk at Lake Wallace each and every afternoon!!

Many fish have been caught and released, with our own president Ben Lane landing the first ever Tiger trout in NSW (no reports from TCD or Lyell as yet)

My brother Herm also managing to get a couple of these tigers along with some good size classed redfin.

Most of the Trout landed at this time are not all huge (all about 20-30cm, though the bigger ones will come in soon)

None the less check out this winner bass young local Jackson Piggott landed from his yak out of the middle of the main basin!! (nice one mate!)

Olly Taylor having a great time landing a HEAP of trout the past few weeks during rain hail and shine.




Lake Wallace Pontoon

So close but, yet so far! 

Yes, we have had some progress since our last communications, but not without its issues….

2/09/2021 The council contractor started ground works for the platform approach however, upon inspection of the site Ben and I picked up the form works they initially installed was not correct to the surveyed plans.

In turn where we halted the cementing for the formworks laid down as the access was installed, not only on the wrong side of the floating platform (introducing a traffic hazard off the point) but also the incorrect gradient of the Australian standard for disability access of requirements of less than 1:14 fall.

Since then, 10/09/2021, the approach has now been corrected and cement been laid as per the following photos, as you can see the pathway has been made shorter due to running out of budget funding, good news here where this does meet the Australian disabilities standards. However, the remaining access way will be now constructed now from hard packed road base.

Progress so far, (the saga continues)….16/09/2021,

The wharf has been since installed, and the road base approach has also been installed,

However, Ben and I are still in discussions with Council noting the road base approach again does not meet the Australian disabilities standards for access…..

21/09/2021 The Council has promised to redo the road-based approach to meet Australian standard specifications. Currently programmed for the 27/09/2021.

(this road-based approach was initially designed to be a concrete pathway.)

Ben and I will not concede until the final product meets all design and Australian standards.


Millpond Project

The Millpond progress is going really well! 

Through the week the Foundations are completing the final touches on last of the access pathways over the inlet spill way from Williwa Street.

We are currently working on formal signage for the pondage management, once this is installed then the Millpond can be officially opened for public access!!

(we are also working on a logo to represent our WCAS team to go on the Millpond signage)


To view more photos, please click on this link:  https://photos.app.goo.gl/vRrE7MeZwzj3HynW6



Latest Update on the Carp Situation

Provided by Bob Hart

According to a recent article on The Guardian, a report on infecting carp with the herpes virus is expected to be handed down by the end of this year – leaving the federal government to decide whether to go ahead with the controversial plan.

In 2016 the federal government announced its intention to infect carp with cyprinid herpesvirus 3, pledging $15 million in the budget. The herpes virus is specific to carp, and has been shown not to affect other species. When carp mate – often in large groups or “orgies” – the virus will spread quickly and kill them.

One of the biggest problems is cleaning up the expected rotting biomass. CSIRO research estimates there could be about 200,000 tonnes in south-eastern Australia, and warns the amount could reach as high as about 356,000 tonnes.

The National Carp Control Plan has been studying how to manage the dead carp so it doesn’t affect the water quality. They are looking at a range of methods including flushing out or drying out the biomass, removing the biomass with boats, nets, and other specifically engineered machinery, moving the biomass to “low-risk sites” and leaving it in situ “where there are no impacts”.

The assessment was due almost two years ago, but more scientific work was needed, and that work was dragged out by the pandemic. Now the department says it should be finished by the end of the year.

The Murray Darling Association is pushing for a wider range of solutions for the carp and believes there’s an untapped market demand for the fish.

Chief executive Emma Bradbury told The Guardian there were many options available, including bulk harvesting for human consumption, international export, or to make fertiliser or pet food.

“Our position on the release of the virus will be based on wherever the final science rests and that’s not in yet. We’re supportive of a range of proposals for the mitigation of carp,” Bradbury said.

“We know the carp in the system is doing significant damage. They are bottom feeders. They increase turbidity, they reduce the quality of the ecosystem. They’re absolutely disastrous.”

Source: The Guardian



Animal Welfare Reform - The Trojan Horse

provided by Bob Hart

IF you thought that marine park lockout zones were the biggest threat to recreational fishing in NSW, the latest NSW DPI Animal Welfare Reform process has put paid to that.

As previously covered in Fisho here, the NSW Government has committed to "modernising and streamlining animal welfare laws" and has invited public comment on various proposals contained in a discussion paper.

One of the main proposals is to add invertebrates, such as crustaceans and cephalopod molluscs, to the list of animals (including fish) which are to be covered under a revised and streamlined animal welfare Act “at all times”, which includes not only in captivity, but also when they are in the wild.

As anglers we all agree that ensuring the welfare of fish, crustaceans and molluscs is important, especially as recreational fishers have been fighting hard for clean water and healthy fish habitat for decades, both of which are essential for good fish welfare. But a healthy aquatic environment is a food chain where countless numbers of fish and aquatic invertebrates die each day as food for other predatory fishes and invertebrates.

This is at odds with the Government’s proposal to have their new Act consistent with the “Five Freedoms and Five Domains” models of animal welfare which were originally devised to protect captive terrestrial animals. On face value, the Government’s commitment to “Set a minimum care requirement for those responsible for animals” is something we can all agree with. However, as always with these things, the devil is in the details.

By aiming to implement legislation that enforces “five freedoms”, as warned by the Recreational Fishing Alliance of NSW (RFA) there is a real danger of “unintended consequences” which could lead to situations where normal, law abiding recreational anglers could be prosecuted for using a live prawn or fish for bait, releasing a legal sized fish or participating in a catch and release fishing tournament , especially if fish are held in live wells or in display tanks prior to release.

Some may say “it would never happen”. But it has already, with voluntary catch and release and fishing tournaments already banned in Germany. New welfare laws in Florida have recently seen animal rights groups trying to prosecute aquaculturists for premature deaths of juvenile salmon. In this case, the salmon farmer Atlantic Sapphire developed land-based tanks (not the seacages normally used to rear salmon), as they tried to avoid environmental damage from nutrient loading and interactions with predators such as seals and sharks. However landbased fish farming is technically challenging, and in trying to do the right thing by the environment, the company concerned is now dealing with a prosecution by animal rights group Animal Outlook.org, who are alleging 800,000 cases of animal cruelty and seeking multi-million dollar fines and jail time.

Aquatic food chains are characterised by high natural mortality rates as everything eats everything else from the larval planktonic stages upwards. Literally countless billions of aquatic organisms die naturally each day, but under animal welfare regulation, there is no such thing as “natural mortality”, and every individual fish, crab, prawn and squid is deemed to have certain rights. Which is why its important for anglers to ask that the ground rules for these new regulations are made very clear, to avoid the inevitable attempts by animal rights groups to gain publicity and potential legal precedents by prosecuting anglers in "edge cases” like live baiting, releasing legal sized fish, holding live fish in fishing tournaments, and so on. Aquaculture groups should also be concerned, as shown by the Atlantic Sapphire precedent.

To have your say, fill out the online survey, or send a submission to animalwelfare.submissions@dpi.nsw.gov.au. Submissions have been extended to now close on 17 September 2021.