VOLUME 28, ISSUE 11. June 2022

The first night having dinner at The Blue Duck Inn, during our trip to Big River (Upper Mitta Mitta River) in May 2021.

David Caddies with a nice 3+ pound brown trout, on The Mitta Mitta River, whilst Trevor Sweeney looks on. The calm before the storm; an "anonymous" article in the Mitta Mitta Trip report refers!.

 
 

Next Members Monthly Meeting

Our next Members Monthly Meeting will be held at The Freeway Hotel. The meeting will kick off at 7:00pm on Monday, 20th June 2022, as the 2nd Monday is the Queens Birthday public holiday in NSW.


Our guest speaker will be our own member Steve Peach, and his topic will be "Loch Style - How to fish lakes from a boat".


Please view further down the Flyrodder for further details.

 

Next Members Monthly Fly Tying 

The Next Monthly Fly Tying Meeting will be replaced by a full days tying and tuition, at our Annual Fly Tying Event, led by our fly tying guru Dave Wilson, on Saturday 25th June 2022.

See further details below under the Fly Tying segment.

 

President's Report

Denis Hill on Perisher Creek.

Dear {Contact_First_Name},

As I mentioned last month with the end of the Trout River fishing season the Committee is focusing on planning for the coming 12 months. The two events we currently have on the schedule are the “Skills Weekend” in August, which has 2 spots available, and the annual “Tie In” which still has 8 open spots. I recently sent out a flyer publicizing the “Tie In”, if you missed it, please check back in your emails, or go to Events on the Club Website and check out this terrific event. Details also appear later in this edition of the Flyrodder. This years “Tie In” is focused on building fundamental skills for those new or relatively new to fly tying and is a great way to see if fly tying is for you and get you going on this intriguing aspect of Fly Fishing – everything is supplied for the day, so jump online and register.

As part of our planning process, we have decided to make changes to some aspects of our monthly club meeting. We will no longer be conducting the $50 badge draw and we intend to put these funds into improving the quality and number of raffle prizes. We also intend bring back the concept of a minor and major raffle, with the minor raffle with numerous prizes being drawn every meeting, while the major raffle will be drawn ever 2nd or 3rd month and if the prize warrants it, the Major raffle will also be sold online. As you will be aware the Major raffle prize to be drawn at the June meeting is a Norvice and going forward we have plans for a major prize of a fly collection, a quality rod and then a reel to match – we think these changes will be of more interest than the $50 badge draw.

As the Club approaches a membership of 200 (we are currently at 198) the Committee is very conscious of the need to provide a broad range of opportunities for members to be involved in our sport and we will keep you all appraised of our progress in the coming months. 

Tight Lines 

Denis Hill

President


 

From the Editor

Gavin at Smith's Lake with a nice bream.


We recently held our ever popular annual trip to the Mitta Mitta River a few weeks ago and we have many excellent reports from some of the attendees. It was great to have many first timers and I'm hearing that they'll be back. Read all about their fishing reports later in this edition.


Whilst the Weekend Tuition in Wallerawang event is still some 2 months away, it has been very well supported to the extent that I've booked another chalet which means that we have a further 2 spots available. In this event every registrant has their own bedroom. For further information, please see the segment later in this edition of the Flyrodder.


This June Flyrodder is out a bit earlier than usual, for an excellent reason. I'm going on a 6 weeks holiday commencing next week. But that means that there will be no July Flyrodder, so therefore the following one will be in August 2022.

I will be in South Africa, I'm taking my trout rod and will do some lake fishing near the Drakensberg Mountains during the closed season. I'll be scouting out some locations in the Cape Province, visiting the Kruger National Park over some 12 days, and generally having a good time.


Looking forward to catching up at our Wallerawang Tuition Weekend and the August Club Members Monthly Meeting.


Gavin van der Wagen

Editor.

gavin@vit.com.au

 

Last Monthly Meeting and Guest Speaker Report

President Denis Hill kicks off the meeting  

We were "Live" again for our May Members Monthly Meeting at The Freeway Hotel in Artarmon.


Our guest speaker segment was once again superbly filled by members of the committee who chatted and demonstrated about the various equipment and gismo's they take and use when they're out on the water. This is invaluable, especially to members relatively new as there is so much equipment choices out there, and this was a wonderful insight into how experienced fly fishers have set themselves up to cover every thing from fishing gear, clothes, safety, medical and comfort levels. It provided a great check list covering all aspects of "things you need" during the course of a days fly fishing.


Members settling in before the meeting kicks off

David Major sharing what he takes to cover medical needs that you might encounter out in the field

Phil Burton chats about how to take "everything" in a large backpack and chest pack

Steve Peach has a different approach that better suites his individual needs

Denis Hill has a number of other useful ideas

Members mingling

Billy Newbold and Phil Burton in the foreground chatting specifics

You can view all of these presentation segments by clicking onto this link below in our Members Private YouTube Video Library:


https://youtu.be/-8dNJRrbMfc


You can also view this video and indeed all the previous presentations on our members private video library on YouTube. To view them please click on the following link:


 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A

  

We have many wonderful videos in our Private Members Video Library, in fact they're all wonderful and informative, plus you can view them at your leisure!


 

Next Monthly Meeting and Guest Speaker

Our June 2022 Members Monthly Meeting will be held "Live" on Monday, 20th June at The Freeway Hotel up in the mezzanine one level up, in our own private room. Our meeting is delayed a week as the 13th June is the Queens Birthday public holiday, so the meeting gets shifted to a week later.

Our guest speaker will be our very own club member Steve Peach, who will be chatting to the members about his experiences and knowledge on the topic "Loch Style - How to fish lakes from a boat". This should be very appealing to us older, less agile members, and will get you to waters that one wouldn't normally be able to reach. Having said that it provides another fishing option, especially during the closed river season, for members to continue fishing. Steve has also taken part in Loch Style during competitions recently, so I'm sure that you will find his talk most interesting, as his talks always are!

The meeting will kick off as usual at 7:00pm with general matters then around half an hour later the guest speaker segment will kick off.

For those unable to attend the meeting we will be recording the presentation and then uploading it to our Club Members Private Video Library on YouTube. 

To access this library, please click on the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A  

You will also be able to view all the previous meeting presentations that we have recorded, and view at your leisure.

Many of our attendees arrive a bit earlier and have dinner either before, else the bar staff will deliver your meal order to our meeting room and you can enjoy your meal, and or drink, whilst the meeting is underway. The food is good value for money and the company is priceless!! So come along and have a relaxing and entertaining meeting where you can meet other members and pick up on useful snippets information that is shared amongst the group.

Our Meeting is normally held on the 2nd Monday of each month, unless it is a public holiday; in which case it will be delayed a week. 

There is ample parking in the parking garage under the Freeway Hotel, which is accessed from Dickson Avenue (at the back), just off Reserve Road, in Artarmon.

The address is 115 Reserve Road, Artarmon 2064 (for for GPS), on the corner of Dickson Avenue. 

Looking forward to catching up at the meeting.

 

New Members

We had five new members join the club in May 2022.


We welcome Cherie Forbes, Brett Clarke, Jason Hemens, David Steirn and Stephen Thomson to our Club. We are very pleased to have Brett and Cherie join the club, as they own BWC Flies who are our club sponsors. Their fly shop operates in Tuggerah and they have a wide range of quality fly fishing products.


We encourage new members to join in on the many activities that we run as this is a good way to meet other club members and also to improve your fly fishing skills and most importantly to have a great time.

Looking forward to meeting you at our Monthly Members Meetings and at events throughout the coming year.

 

Last Months Casting Practice Report

CASTING PRACTICE REPORT                                   Sunday 8 May 2022

Perhaps owing to the change of date to Mothers’ Day, numbers last time were only sufficient to form one football team. Still, a good showing, especially as the day was a bit brisk. In light of increasing briskness as the freshwater season closes, we will start at 9am for the session (not 8am) and that will continue for at least the winter months. 

FLYLINE UNDERSTANDINGS

We did talk briefly about flylines on the day. All of that was prompted by a member’s previous comment on the club’s What’s App site about issues around false casting and shooting line. Line design is something which many fly fishers don’t pay enough attention to. You do have to put in a bit of effort and thinking to get to understand it. Further, it is not always easy to try out a range of lines to get to know the differences. The result of using a line which is not designed for your rod, or for the fishing you are doing, can make your casting a challenging and frustrating experience. You will, of course, blame yourself and you will think casting is enormously difficult, which it can be if you are doing what the line is not designed to do. In what follows, I am ignoring the shooting of line (ie letting it go) on the presentation cast. Here, I am just talking about holding good loops of line in the air as you false cast and lengthening it bit by bit (ie slipping line).

Even if you are only going to have one rod and one weight-forward (ie “WF”) line (say, a 5 weight outfit), you might go middle of the road with rod action and line type. Ie general purpose stuff, usually on the advice of a sales person. With a weight-forward line, you may get to the point where you are able to hold 30’ of line out of the rod tip in nice loops when false casting, but as soon as you slip more line out into the false casting, the cast goes to mush at that point. Meaning, you lose control of the line and it may just collapse in the air.  If you don’t know the difference between the head of a weight-forward line and the running line and where on your line that joint is, you are probably used to this scenario. 

The message is this: Find out how long the head section of your line is and, when false casting, keep the last 2-3 feet of head line inside the rod tip. If you are still not able to cast the resulting line length into nice loops – ok, pull a bit more of the head inside the rod guides until you find the length that you can control. Work out from there. The experts say, get competence a foot at a time. One fine day, when you reach the point where you can cast nice loops with all the head out of the rod tip, it’s time to think about letting out a foot of running line. Prepare for the worst, at first. It’s just because the skinnier running line doesn’t effectively support the fatter line of the head in the air. Until you become more expert. False casting the running line involves some more advanced techniques and I’m not talking about that further here. 

In practice, the last paragraph does mean that you have to find out the exact length of the head (look on the packaging, or online) and know where the back end is in relation to the rod guides when false casting. Some modern lines are colour-coded for this purpose. If not, you might wish to rely on a marking system of your own. The easiest is to mark a wide, 6” band of colour (call up the black Sharpie) all around the line just where the head ends and the running line begins. To find that spot, you will need to measure from the tip of the line in accordance with maker’s statement (or diagram, more likely) of head length. Otherwise, get some digital calipers and test for yourself. The running line is all the same diameter (all 50 or so feet of it), up to the rear end of the back taper. The back taper has an increase in diameter as it gets further forward away from the running line. Where that increase starts to be noticeable is the part we are talking about. 

Once you have marked it, you have a very visual guide of where the head and the running line junction is when casting. When starting, you may be successful as long as the black mark is just out of the reel. As you progress, the mark will move further towards the tip while you cast controlled loops. 

There are different ways to use marks and the above is just one of them. Other systems use a mark just where the line hand holds the line (when the back of the head is just inside the rod tip), but that becomes obsolete as you hold more and more line in the cast and you’ll have to get used to watching it go further and further up the rod, instead of at your hand position. Not a bad thing, though – is shows improvement! Others use a system of line lengths because they can already cast the whole head and some running line and their purpose is to know how far away from the reel the fly is. Eg mark the line at a point where, when the line hand is holding the mark, the fly is a known distance away, perhaps 50’.

Just one hint, when you do mark your lines in any way, ensure the ink dries very thoroughly before winding it back onto the reel. Otherwise you get a patchwork of ink stains on the line, not just one. 

If you take the above steps, or at least bother to get to know your line’s shape better, I think you’ll find that diagnosing many casting problems gets easier. More importantly, it’s an aid to measuring positive progress in your casting. 


ROLL CASTING

What else did we do that day? Although it is well known that you can’t roll cast on grass, don’t tell the many who knocked off 36’ roll casts on grass (some doing that cast for the first time). Perhaps not all leaders fell straight, but in the breezy conditions, not bad. Well done all!

My own view is that a good flycasting approach is to always search for the most effective level and manner of physical effort. Don’t just develop competence by belting it out. The more you make it your aim to cut back the power, the more you learn good technique because you are forced to rely on technique. Add power to technique. To paraphrase Lefty Kreh, if you are out there thrashing the rod back and forth with much exertion, you may only succeed in tearing your underwear. 

Leaving it there, I should only say “..take it easy.”

David Caddies


Our next Casting Practice will be held on the 5th June 2022.

See the next section for more details.

Some photos follow of the morning session.


 

Club Monthly Casting Practice - Details and Event Schedule.


SFRC MONTHLY CASTING PRACTICE    Sunday 5 June 2022     


NOTE NEW WINTER SEASON START TIME : 9am (not 8am over winter). 

All members are welcome to join in the club’s usual monthly practice session. If you want to know everything about the club’s casting practice sessions, read the whole blurb in the Flyrodder magazine.

Here's the essentials:

TIME:   All start at 9 am for casting basics and usual practice session (all welcome).

1. Bring your favourite rod and line, or the outfit you need to get to know better. A 5 or 6 weight 9’ rod is preferred for this session, but not essential. A tapered leader of 7’6” - 8’ is recommended, but not too light. One tapered down to 10 pounds would be ideal.  (0X,1X or 2X if you speak in X’s). Definitely not longer than 9’, including tippet. 

2. A brightly-coloured wool or yarn fly should be tied to the end of the leader. Wool available at the session. 

3. Do not use a real fly, or a cut-down fly or anything incorporating metal when at club practice, for safety reasons.  

4. Speaking of which, take the usual precaution of using proper eye protection (sunglasses).

5. Not well? Stay at home please. 

WHERE:

Timbrell Park, Henley Marine Drive, Five Dock. Go to the western end of Henley Marine Drive, past the cricket pitches, baseball nets and just past LIvvi’s coffee kiosk and kids’ playground area.There is an open area opposite where Ingham Avenue intersects with Henley Marine Drive which we usually use. It is not part of the sports fields. It’s still very wet underfoot at the moment and if they haven’t cut the grass recently we will be just across the canal in the open area on the other side (where we were last time). 

If you can’t make it this time and want some good practical instruction to guide you, check out this site: https://www.flyfishersinternational.org/Learn/Learning-Center-Resources/Fly-Casting/Casting-Instruction


So come and give it a try, as there is so much to be gained  by attending these sessions. And they are Free!!!


 

Last Months Fly Tying Meeting Report

In our May fly tying event we had a small group in attendance, but they benefitted as they had more hands on time with our fly tying maestro Dave Wilson.


They got to tie the Para Wulff and others.


Dave will be running the show in June at our Annual All Day Fly Tying Event. See the detail in the following segment.


Previously  Dave Wilson gave us a series of 4 Master Class Fly Tying presentations and Videos, covering the history of fly tying through to the best way to kick off your fly tying adventurers and how to select your fly tying vise and tools from the myriad of options and prices which can be most confusing. This will assist you to kick off in the most appropriate manner to meet your specific requirements.

Most of us decide to tie a pattern and then set about learning the required skills just for that pattern. But from Dave's videos you will see that 7 tying skills will cover you tying 95% of the flies that you will ever want to tie.

So jump on our Private Members Video Library on YouTube.

To view them please click on the following link:

 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLz7-a9GW8MBKy084XpcbwMlC0CWTllz-A

  
Happy Viewing as we have some wonderful information in this library!


 

Next Monthly Fly Tying Meeting

In June our Monthly Fly Tying Event will be replaced by our Annual Tie in on Saturday the 25 June 2022, from 9:00am to 4:00pm.

This year’s Tie-In is aimed at beginners and members wanting to refresh the basics. Not a tsunami of pattern tying but a workshop on skill building!

You will be starting at the very beginning and focusing on the fundamental core skills needed to tie the majority of patterns. We will also include a quick run-down of the preferred tools needed if you are in the market to buy your own tools. (We suggest you don’t until after the Tie-In)

We have carefully chosen “mannequin” patterns upon which to hang skills which will be introduced in a logical sequence to assist skill building. 

We will be taking things slowly step by step to ensure you develop the essential skills used to tie the vast majority of patterns.   

If you don’t have a fly-tying kit it doesn’t matter, as Club kits are available.  We will ask if you need a kit after registration and if you regard yourself as a beginner to ensure we can give assistance.

All materials will be provided. The day will be led by Dave Wilson, Phil Burton and helper volunteers.  We are lucky to have Andrew Corkish again look after us catering wise. 

The $25 fee is a good investment !    We look forward to seeing you on the day.    

Recent tie ins have catered to members who learnt their skills at one of Dave’s earlier tie ins. This year it is back to basics! If you want to learn how to tie or have started but want to gain some knowledge to improve your tying, then this day is for you. We will be focusing on all the necessary elements, knowledge and tools to begin to fill you fly boxs and spare room. All the gear and different setups, what to look for when you buy tools and materials along with enough information for a lifetime of fly construction. If you have battled at one of our monthly tying nights as a novice, then this day will get you up to speed. Then join in and attempt some of the more complex patterns each month.

We will be focusing on basic and flies with modest materials to get you the skills to top up your box and push on to bigger and more challenging patterns. Simple and effective flies like nymphs and stick caddis, getting techniques and proportions correct. Winged and Parra duns, while demonstrating some techniques that you can take away to try. A couple of saltwater patterns to get you out on the flats thrown in. Importantly we will discuss essential elements of construction and physical differences in making your fly perform in the water. Dave will tell you why a simple scruffy pattern can out fish the most realistic imitation and the show you how to tie both.

If you want to join in for a social day, enjoy some scones and give a hand to a starter, then please come along.

You won’t need anything, club kits are available with all that you will need. If you have your own gear then bring it along. Tying materials are supplied but you can bring yours and learn more about their uses.

It will be a great day of learning and sharing for all levels and good social day as always.

Bookings thru the events page on the website.


The venue is the Henley Community Centre in Hunters Hill/Henley, and we meet in the Big Room on the left as you enter.


The venue address is: Crown Street, Henley, NSW 2111. As you turn into Crown Street, from Victoria Road, take the first left and drive down a bit of a bumpy road, and it's the last building about a 100 yards down the drag. There's parking off the track and walk through a small road (some do park just outside the building), but it's a short walk to the front door past a bowling green (may be a veggie patch now).


Hare and Copper Nymph

Hare's Ear Nymph

Red Tag

Para Dun - Kozzie Dun

Royal Wulff

Elk Hair Caddis

Leggy Crazy Charlie

 
 

Mitta Mitta in May - Trip Report

by Dave Robinson

Well my first trip with the club did not disappoint. Mitta Mitta is certainly a beautiful place with great little rivers, creeks, and lakes around to keep any fly fisho busy for a few days.

Another first for me was trying my hand at euro nymphing. Day 1 consisted of a brief lesson from Steve Peach, a couple of small fish caught and a very brief unplanned swim at Bob’s Farm, did I mention that it was a bit cold! The next few days were spent fishing with various club members which ultimately concluded in a few fizzy drinks and a delicious meal at the local pub, oh what a life! 

I also had the privilege of guided day with Tom Jarman who is an absolute master at euro nymphing and would highly recommend him to anyone who is considering doing the same in future. Not only is Tom a top fly fisher but also a great coach, so many lessons were learned, and tips taken away to improve my chances on the water. 

Best of all I got to meet and spend some time with great guys, who I would like to call friends. It’s trips like these that really bring to life the benefits of being a member of Sydney Flyrodder.

Well done to the organisers on a superb trip and I am really looking forward to the next one! 


What a place to have a fish!!

Putting up a good fight

The reward of a nice rainbow

A healthy wild river brown

by Hennie Smith (our Country Member from Jindabyne)

This was my first time in Mitta Mitta. After fishing the rivers for 2 days I gained some improvement but decided to try my luck on the lakes.

On day 3 I used my float tube on both Lake Dartmouth and Lake Banimboola. This proved to be very successful and on my second day out on the float tube I landed a beautiful brown trout of over 50cm. I caught this on a brown and yellow streamer.

Float tubing added a new dimension to my fishing trip and I will be back next year floating the lakes. If there is anybody out there who would be keen to join me next trip, I would welcome the company!


A beautiful lake brown trout

Hennie on the river too!!

by David Blackwell

The great feature of fishing the Mitta Mitta location is the ability to fish a range of locations. The club’s contacts with local farmers allowed us to access extended sections of the Mitta Mitta River. In addition we were in easy reach of alternative locations including  Snowy Creek, Lightning Creek and Little Snowy Creek. All of these provided additional opportunities and a variety of stream conditions.

One of the features of this year’s Mitta Mitta Trip  was the participation of Tom Jarman. Thanks to Steve Peach for organising this. 

Tom has been involved in competitive fly fishing since the age of 16 and first represented Australia at the age of 18.  He has represent Australia on six occasions, including the last 4 World Championships. Several of the club members took on instruction and tuition from Tom while he was at Mitta Mitta. 

Over three days Tom provided personal instruction to Trevor Sweeney, Gavin van der Wagen, Steve Peach, David Blackwell and Dave Robinson. All of those that spent time with Tom benefitted and finished the day with improved technique and skill. Seeing Tom in action was a thrill as he was able to confidently take fish out of almost any situation. Tom joined us for dinner at the Mitta Mitta Pub each night and was generous in providing advice on a range of questions that came across the table.

Tom  focused his advice on Euro Nymphing technique. He was very keen to emphasise the importance of  getting the drift right – keeping the cast close and maintaining  contact during the drift. 

A beautiful brown. Tom Jarman does the honours.

David and Tom admiring the resulting catch

Unidentified Source

It was reported from the Mitta Mitta trip that in the late afternoon of Thursday, David Caddies, Gavin van der Wagen and Trevor Sweeney were fishing together on the lower side of Bob’s farm.

Trevor was on the nearby bank undoing a tangle.

David was Euro nymphing and hooked a beautiful 3lb Brown.

Gavin was fishing in the middle of the river about 10 m down stream. He put his precious rod (that he had built himself ) between his legs so that he could photograph the action.

And this is how it all started!!! David about to land the fish whilst Trevor looks on.

The fish is successfully netted

Gavin did get the above shots of the fish being caught and landed BUT in all the excitement he opened his legs and the rod was washed away by the current.

Trevor took off down the river in pursuit of the rod as fast as he could but tripped on a rock and fell into the water.

David landed and carefully released his great catch, then moved swiftly 60m further down the river bank. He entered the water and miraculously found the rod hooked on a rock.

All’s well that ends well—except that Trevor cracked his patella and will have to wear a leg brace for six weeks.

(Ed; apologies to Trevor from my precious home built CTS 10' nymphing rod!)


The first night we all dined in the Bistro at the Mitta Mitta Hotel and Pub

Local farmer Bob Wild giving us the thumbs up; Always a great night with the dairy farmers

That night a bus load of locals arrived dressed up as well known celebrities; that's the great thing about the country as they have to make their own fun and it certainly added to the atmosphere.

I'm not sure who the celebrity on the left is!

The second night we had dinner at the Mitta Mitta Brewery; our farmer friend Garry Smith on the left.

A peaceful setting

More inquisitive locals

Trevor Sweeney on the beautiful Snowy Creek showing his nymphing technique

It worked; fish on!!

Tom Jarman and Trevor enjoying the pristine farm location

Trevor enjoying some lunch

Tom Jarman showing how it's done; he makes it look so easy

Tom with a lovely brown; on the rod before it got lost and then recovered

David Caddies is becoming a converted nympher; perhaps

Mitta Mitta Trip Report

by Rob Cummins

After the great success of the club’s trip to the upper Mitta Mitta (Big) River at Anglers Rest in March, an eager bunch of 15 Flyrodders ventured south again in May to the cute little town of Mitta Mitta, on the tailwaters of the Mitta Mitta River, below the massive Dartmouth Dam. At 180 metres high, this dam has the highest wall of any dam in Australia and has almost 7 times the capacity of Sydney Harbour. Below the dam, the river has a smaller control pondage (Lake Banimboola), and then flows through a mix of canyons, forest and farmlands onto Lake Hume and the Murray River.



The beautiful Mitta Mitta River, a few kilometres below Dartmouth Dam

Of significance to fly fishos, the water that is expelled from Dartmouth Dam into the lower Mitta Mitta River is up to 10 degrees C colder that it would otherwise be. This has had a major negative impact on the numbers of native Macquarie Perch, Trout Cod and Murray Cod below the dam but has made the waters ideal for trout. Although the dam’s outflow can vary, there is always at least some environmental flow. Several other small creeks flow into the Mitta below the dam including Little Scrubby, Little Snowy, Callaghan and Spring Creeks and the superb Snowy Creek and its tributaries Lightning and Mt Wills Creek. These are all wonderful trout fisheries, although many are very tight and best fished by tiny people using tiny rods. 



As there is only small-scale accommodation at Mitta Mitta, we were spread over several locations. The town does however boast a truly superb pub serving quite remarkable meals, several excellent craft beers produced by the local Mitta Mitta Brewery and maybe the odd red.  The owners, Chris and Heather (who is also the head cook) and their entire staff made us feel completely at home. 

The brewery also kept us fed and lubricated on the Sunday night.


Aerial view of Mitta Mitta, at the junction of the Mitta Mitta River and Snowy Creek

By Wombat3701 at English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=69624883


On the Monday night dinner, we were graced with Australian trout fishing royalty when we were joined by Peter Morse, one of the club’s founders, author and creator of the landmark TV series from the 90s, Wildfish. In addition, Australia’s number one ranked fly fisherman, YouTube author and fly guide/coach, Tom Jarman, joined us for several nights. Over the next three days, Tom coached several of the club members on the finer aspects of casting, stream craft, Euro nymphing, locating fish and so on. 

Without exception, all of his students were amazed at how much they learned and how they pulled fish from locations that they never would have considered. At night, Tom was extraordinarily open in providing tips and advice to all the group, and we were “all ears” whenever he gave us his thoughts. He is a genuinely delightful guy and we will certainly be trying to secure Tom’s services again next year.

We had mostly calm, cool and cloudy conditions, with a smattering of rain here and there. The rivers and creeks were settling down after some solid rain the week before, and the water became progressively clearer through the week. Due to Gav’s hard work, we were able to access several parts of the Mitta via local farmers’ properties, some of whom also joined us for dinner at the pub or the brewery. Somewhat surprisingly, given the stage of the season, I don’t believe anyone encountered any spawn run fish.

Everyone caught fish, and most of the members caught reasonable numbers. A couple of the lads also took time off to stalk some of the numerous deer in the nearby forests. 

The Mitta gave up significant numbers of small (12 to 20cm) trout – mostly browns – and the occasional redfin. Bigger fish were harder to find, but several noteworthy catches of 2 to 3 lb were landed. As we were late in the season, most fish were taken on nymphs (droppers and Euro).

Beautiful water on the Mitta

Easy fishing at Garry’s farm on the Mitta

Interestingly, despite its small size, the Snowy Creek seemed to be holding more fish in the 25 to 35 cm range. The small creeks also generally had clearer water and the fish were often easily spooked. 

The lovely Snowy Creek in the morning mist

Many of the creeks were very tight with slippery rocks, gorgeous overhanging tree ferns, fallen logs, trees, vines and of course the ever-annoying blackberries. If you were prepared to risk getting a bit scratched and losing a few flies, the rewards were usually there.

Hard work negotiating Mt Wills Creek

Bow and arrow cast were often needed

Searching out the edges

Perhaps the award for the most deserved fish went to new member Hennie Smith who braved the cold, early mornings on his tiny inflatable kick boatlet thingamajig on Lake Banimboola to pursue the large cruising browns that reportedly stalked the edges. After a couple of challenging mornings, he landed a superb 55cm brown on a streamer.  

Hennie's sensational 55cm brown

The coaching by Tom Jarman certainly lifted the game of several members. Although a seasoned fly fisher, Dave Robinson was on his first trip with the club. He had only recently started Euro nymphing, but under Tom’s guidance, landed 20 fish in one day.

David Blackwell landed this beautiful brown while with Tom Jarman

Peachy with a lovely fat rainbow

.....and a peach of a brown

Thanks as always to Gavin for his brilliant work in organising the trip, and to the farmers who gave permission to fish the lovely water on their properties. Special thanks also to Chris, Heather and their team at the Mitta Hotel for taking such good care of us all week, and to Tom Jarman for his amazing coaching and helpful hints. 

Thanks also to Hennie Smith, Dave Blackwell and Steve Peach for many of these photos.

 
 
 

Tuition Weekend in August in Wallerawang

We have two spots still available.


This popular event, held around the last weekend of July each year, is run to share and impart fly fishing knowledge and skills to beginners, new members and indeed any member that wishes to improve their skills. It has always included a good mixture of members with varying levels of fly-fishing experience, and who are always willing to share their knowledge and experience. 

It's also a great way for new members to meet existing members, and also to experience an enjoyable weekend away during winter and the closed river season.

We will be staying at the Black and Gold Country Cabins at Wallerawang, arriving Friday, 5th August and departing Sunday, 7th August 2022.

 

The accommodation cost will be around $160 per person for the two nights which is very reasonable. We pay at the venue prior to checking out. They trust the Sydney Fly Rodders! Each attendee will open up their own tab to be settled prior to departure, as many members have meals and drinks there.

These cabins are self-contained and they have a great restaurant, The Cribb.

Their website is: www.blackgoldcabins.com.au

For the event this year we will have Phil Burton covering “Stream Craft”, Steve Peach will be covering "Lakes and Dams fishing" and David Caddies will be providing Casting Practice and covering General Fly Fishing.

This is going to be a bumper weekend away as we cover stream craft, lakes and dams fishing, hands on Casting Practice on the water with individual tuition to remedy any flaws in your technique plus equipping you with some new skills. We will also cover general fly fishing across knots, setup, gear and the whole end to end of fly fishing. So get on the website and book your spot as it's filling up.

We will get together on Friday night, after dinner, in one of the cabins (normally Wren and depending on the distancing rules at the time) for presentations on the topics mentioned earlier, covering the technical aspects of the weekends subject matter. Then on Saturday we will hold hands on practicals, on the water somewhere in the close proximity, to put into practice the previous evenings presentations and address each individuals specific needs.

This weekend has always been a great opportunity to pick up some new skills, plus we will endeavour to tailor the conversations and practicals to meet the needs of attendees and to therefore make it a weekend of great value.

I will provide more information to the attendees as required and then prior to the trip.


To book your spot please log onto our website, go to Events (in the Members section), select August in the Calendar and click on the event and follow the prompts. We have 16 places available.


The Covid protocols will apply at the time for the event attendance.

Should you have any questions then please don't hesitate to contact me on gavin@vit.com.au or 0411877546.


Kind regards,

Gavin van der Wagen




 
 

Sydney Fly Rodders Facebook Pages

We run two SFRC pages, one is our public page and it posts events and activities of the club. It also shares posts from other pages like CAS, DPI on things relevant to the places and areas that we fish.


I post some fly tying every now and then and share links to events I find that might be of interest to followers. This page is a little like our Web page, it showcases the club to attract members and provides details of club events. It has about 450 people following the page and any post will be seen by between 180 and 240 people.


We added another page. This is reserved for members only and cannot be seen by anyone outside of the group. You will need to send a request to join. Any member can post on this page and it is a great opportunity for members to put up a post or two about anything fly fishing. I would like to encourage members to use this page to post fishing reports or photos of flies that you tied. Being connected to other members you can ask for some casting or gear advice, or organise a short trip when you suddenly have some spare time.


There are also hundreds of other groups; bream on fly, carp on fly, bass, trout....areas like alpine trout, Sydney Kayak Fishing....fly tying groups, buy sell swap fly gear pages and individuals like Aussie Flyfisher, Sydney Flyfishing to check out. 


Phil Burton
philipburton@bigpond.com

 

Sydney Flyrodders Instagram Page


The Sydney Fly Rodders are now on Instagram. Many thanks to our Member Maddie Chew Lee, who offered to set us up and apply her significant experience with marketing and communications in particular within the social media space. 

Please follow the site and add your comments, and lets grow this platform for the club. It will also attract new members to the club.

Below is a snapshot of the site. We aim to sync (in particular look and feel) the Instagram account with our Facebook account and also our new Website, which I talk more about in the preceding section.

 

Sydney Fly Rodders WhatsApp Group

We have an Exclusive Group on WhatsApp for our Members, which is a great way to communicate informally and to share ideas, seek advice and also to plan and seek interest for impromptu/planned fishing trips.


I can highly recommend this to members. We have arranged a number of trips now from a weekends bass fishing through to a casual and social Sunday morning or afternoons fishing at Narrabeen Lake or Hen & Chickens Bay etc. And there could even be a BBQ thrown in for a social get together afterwards. This will happen on most if not all occasions.


Should you wish to be included in this group, then please email me to request your inclusion, quoting your mobile number which is required to link you into the Group. You will need to download the WhatsApp first if you haven't already done so.


Please contact me for inclusion.


Gavin van der Wagen

Editor, Flyrodder

gavin@vit.com.au

 

Snippets of Information

Provided by Bob Hart

DPI's Update on Anglers Fishing Access Locations.

Online Maps Helps Anglers Access New Fishing Spots

THE NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI) has unveiled its Angler Access website, providing recreational fishers with thousands of locations across inland NSW where rivers, streams and lakes can be legally accessed for fishing.

DPI program leader Stocking & Fisheries Enhancement Operations, Jim Harnwell said DPI has worked tirelessly with stakeholders, including the NSW Council of Freshwater Anglers, over the past six months to fine tune the site and ensure it is user friendly and informative for the general recreational fishing community.

"The website provides recreational fishers an easy-to-use map showing more than 4,000 verified sites to fish for native species including Murray cod, golden perch and Australian bass, as well as other freshwater sportfish such as brown trout and rainbow trout,” Harnwell said.

“Finding a new spot to fish is now at the fingertips of any angler with a smartphone and network coverage.

“No need to worry about getting lost while searching for a new spot, as the Angler Access map gives you Google map directions to each fishing spot and the ability to download maps for when you are in an area with no mobile service.

“This online map service is a game changer for our recreational fishing sector and is yet another great example of fishers’ fishing fees at work.”

Harnwell said the Angler Access map makes it easy to discover fishing spots by allowing anglers to search by species, reserve type, recommended vehicle for access and even suitability for disabled access.

“Over coming months, even more sites will be added to the access map, providing recreational fishers with additional opportunities to explore new and exciting opportunities across our great State,” Harnwell said.

“Identifying these fishing spots and securing them for current and future generations is not only extremely beneficial for recreational fishers, but also for the regional businesses that rely on fishing tourism.

“Anglers are reminded when discovering a new fishing spot to always respect private property and obey the fishing rules.”


The End